Board Members

Letter from the President

Greetings on behalf of the Northeast Region of the National Council on Black American Affairs (NCBAA-NE). It is an honor to serve as president of this amazing region during this time of growth and transition. As we continue to navigate these unprecedented times, NCBAA-NE remains committed to increasing awareness of the critical issues facing black students and professionals in higher education. We continue to work diligently and collaboratively to ensure that our voice is heard as policies that impact our professional goals and our student’s success are created.

The Northeast Region is comprised of 12 states and two U.S. territories (Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virgin Island).

This is a pivotal moment for our country. One thing that this past year has taught us, is that the work of NCBAA is needed more than ever. I encourage you to join us in our mission to improve the outcomes for black students, faculty, staff and administrators. As a member of the NCBAA-NE, you will grow both personally and professionally as you network with some of the most brilliant and influential people within higher education.

Stay connected to NCBAA-NE by browsing our website, chatting with us on LinkedIn, sending us your thoughts and questions via email, or connect with us directly. If you have any noteworthy higher education news you would like to share, please contact us.


Dr. Kellie Byrd Danso
President, NCBAA-Northeast Region

Board Members

Dr. Kellie Byrd Danso, President
Central Connecticut State University | Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. Tonja Ringgold, Past President & Parliamentarian
Retired Academic Administrator  
Ms. Sheryl L. Nelson, Secretary
Prince George's Community College | Facilitator
Ms. Mary Coleman, Treasurer
Stella and Charles Guttman Community College | Vice President, Finance and Administration
Dr. Rhonda Spells Fentry, Treasurer
Prince George’s Community College | Vice President, Enterprise Technology & CIO
Dr. Daphne Snowden, VP Programs
Director, Maryland Educational Opportunity Center | Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.
Dr. Carolyn H. Anderson, VP Membership
Morgan State University Interim Chair, DASLP
Dr. Derrick Little, Co-VP Membership
Director, Veterans Military Services | Community College of Baltimore County
Dr. LaVon Williams, VP Public Relations
Associate Director Student Success Initiatives | Union County College Enrollment Specialist
Vacant – VP Organizational Vitality
Dr. Harriette Scott Dudley, Bay State Chapter President
Senior Lecturer | Boson University
Dr. Gina Gaines
SUNY Westchester Educational Opportunity Center | Westchester Community College | Associate Dean & Director
Dr. G. Duncan Harris
Capital Community College | Interim Chief Executive Officer
Dr. Kimberly H. James
Connecticut State Colleges & Universities | Special Assistant to the President
Dr. Sharale W. Mathis
Holyoke Community College | Vice President, Academic and Student Affairs
Dr. E. Keith Murvin
Prince Georges Community Collège | Senior Director, Talent Acquisition & Total Rewards  
Mr. David A. Taylor
Bronx Community College | Assistant Vice President, Campus Operations
Dr. Ladylease G. White
Essex County College | Professor, Accounting | Founder & Director Honors Program
Dr. Calvin E. Woodland
Morgan State University | Faculty, CCLDP Program